Power-seeds.com.ua

+38 (066) 53 97 735

+38 (068) 64 57 071

Украина, Киев

ПН-ПТ с 08:00 до 20:00

0
0 грн.
Ваши заказы
  • Your shopping cart is empty!

What is a coffee shop and why is it called that?

What is a coffee shop and why is it called that?

In any country, ask for directions to the nearest coffee shop and you will be directed to a cafe serving hot drinks. But in the Netherlands you will be directed to a completely different place - to a store where you can buy weed or hashish!



The Dutch capital has over 160 "wonders" and while you can certainly enjoy a cappuccino in many of them, that is not their primary purpose! Here we look at the history of coffeeshops in the Netherlands and answer the question that every tourist has on their lips - why are coffee shops called coffeeshops?

History of cannabis in the Netherlands

In the 17th century, cannabis was widely smoked in the Netherlands. Marijuana smoking can even be seen in Golden Age paintings by artists such as Brouwer. In the 1600s, cannabis smokers (who usually mixed weed with tobacco and smoked from stone pipes) were called "toe drinkers". It remained a popular pastime until it was banned by the Pope, who threatened to excommunicate anyone who broke the rules. The Dutch authorities followed suit, threatening to punish anyone found smoking marijuana by cutting off their nose or even hanging them! Fast forward a few centuries and marijuana smoking returned to its former levels of popularity, as did much of the West, with the advent of hippie culture and the Roaring Sixties.

 

So why are they called coffeeshop?
The very first coffee shop (sadly closed in 2017) was Mellow Yellow. This coffee shop on the grounds of an old bakery was filled with vendors disguised as regulars to drink coffee. Since 1972, this and many other coffee houses began to covertly sell hashish and marijuana. The nature of the business may have changed, but the name stuck!

The authorities in Amsterdam unsuccessfully tried to stop the illegal sale of cannabis, but, having failed, decided to implement a policy of "tolerance" - gedoogbeleid in Dutch (try saying that after one too much dose!). Mellow Yellow received its first license, and many more followed. As long as these coffee shops were happy to abide by the strict rules set by the government, they were free to sell weed (despite the fact that it was technically illegal, which continues today).

Is cannabis legal in Amsterdam?
It's complicated, but the short answer is no. It's just tolerable. But don't worry, you won't get arrested for smoking marijuana in the Netherlands, and as long as you're under 5g you're not doing anything wrong, so enjoy!

  • What is a coffee shop and why is it called that?

Related Products

White - Widow

White - Widow

Description and characteristics of the variety White Widow fem is a strongly relaxing indica-domi..

480 грн.

 Auto AK-47

Auto AK-47

Auto AK-47 marijuana seeds give healthy sprouts in the outdoors in moderate climates, an excellent o..

110 грн.

 Amnesia Haze

Amnesia Haze

Amnesia Haze cannabis seeds One of the most popular strains in the coffeeshops of the Netherlands..

864 грн.

Satori Feminised

Satori Feminised

..

160 грн.

Power-seeds.com.ua

+38 (066) 53 97 735

+38 (068) 64 57 071

Украина, Киев

ПН-ПТ с 08:00 до 20:00

0
0 грн.
Ваши заказы
  • В корзине пусто!

Кофешоп что это и почему он так называется?

В любой стране спросите дорогу к ближайшей кофейне, и вам укажут в сторону кафе, где подают горячие напитки. Но в Нидерландах вас направят совсем в другое место – в магазин, где можно купить травку или гашиш!

Кофешоп что это и почему он так называется?

В любой стране спросите дорогу к ближайшей кофейне, и вам укажут в сторону кафе, где подают горячие напитки. Но в Нидерландах вас направят совсем в другое место – в магазин, где можно купить травку или гашиш!


В столице Нидерландов насчитывается более 160 «завидений, и, хотя во многих из них вы, безусловно, можете насладиться капучино, это не является их основной целью! Здесь мы рассмотрим историю кофешопов в Нидерландах и ответим на вопрос, который у каждого туриста на устах – почему кофейни называются кофешопом?

История каннабиса в Нидерландах

В 17 веке каннабис широко курили в Нидерландах. Курение марихуаны можно увидеть даже на картинах Золотого века таких художников, как Брауэр. В 1600-х годах курильщиков каннабиса (которые обычно смешивали травку с табаком и курили из каменных трубок) называли «пьющими на пальцах ног». Это оставалось популярным времяпрепровождением, пока не было запрещено Папой Римским, который пригрозил отлучением от церкви любому, кто нарушит правила. Голландские власти последовали этому примеру, пригрозив наказать любого, кто будет уличен в курении марихуаны , отрезав ему нос или даже повесив! Перенесемся на несколько столетий вперед, и курение марихуаны вернулось к своему прежнему уровню популярности, как и большая часть Запада, с появлением культуры хиппи и бурными шестидесятыми.

Итак, почему их называют кофешопом?

Самая первая кофейня (к сожалению, закрытая в 2017 году) была Mellow Yellow. В этой кофейне на территории старой пекарни, где можно было выпить кофе, было полно торговцев, замаскированных под постояных поситителей. С 1972 года эта и многие другие кофейни начали тайно продавать гашиш и марихуану. Характер бизнеса мог измениться, но название прижилось!


Власти Амстердама безуспешно пытались остановить незаконную продажу каннабиса, но, потерпев неудачу, решили провести политику «толерантности» — gedoogbeleid по-голландски (попробуйте сказать это после одной слишком большой дозы!). Mellow Yellow получила первую лицензию, за ней последовали многие другие. До тех пор, пока эти кофейни были счастливы соблюдать строгие правила, установленные правительством, они могли свободно продавать травку (несмотря на то, что это было технически незаконно, что сохраняется и сегодня).

Законен ли каннабис в Амстердаме?

Это сложно, но краткий ответ — нет. Это просто терпимо. Но не волнуйтесь, вас не арестуют за курение марихуаны в Нидерландах, и, если у вас не более 5 г, вы не делаете ничего плохого, так что наслаждайтесь!

  • Кофешоп что это и почему он так называется?

Рекомендуемые товары

White - Widow

White - Widow

Описание и характеристики сорта Сорт White Widow fem – это гибрид с доминирующей индикой и сильны..

480 грн.

 Auto AK-47 Feminised

Auto AK-47 Feminised

Семена марихуаны Auto AK-47 дают здоровые всходы в аутдоре в умеренном климате, это отличный вариант..

110 грн.

Amnesia Haze

Amnesia Haze

Семена конопли Amnesia Haze Один из самых популярных сортов в кофешопах Нидерландов, одновременно..

864 грн.

Satori Feminised

Satori Feminised

..

160 грн.